How to Win a Sidney Prize

There are many sidney prizes available for those who want to do good in the world. Some of them are financial, while others are based on accomplishments. For instance, some of these prizes are given to scientists who promote their work. This can be done by educating the public about its importance or inspiring more people to study science. Others are given to writers who cover important issues and help the community. There are even some that honor female engineers.

One of the best known is the New York Times columnist’s annual “Sidney Prize.” These honor long-form essays that illuminate a great issue and are well written. Some examples include Hilton Als writing for The New Yorker and Ed Yong writing for the Atlantic. Others are more prestigious, like the ones awarded by SHOT to authors of outstanding scholarly books on history of technology.

This is the award for that student who has shown unusual service within the department and the major. It was established by the offer of an annual donation from the Sydney University Arts Society. It is named after the philosopher Sidney Hook, and has been awarded since 1959. The prize is a grant of $3,000 to be spent for the purpose of the student’s choosing.

SFCU Cash Giveaway is open to legal residents of the 50 United States and the District of Columbia who are at least 18 years of age or the age of majority (whichever is greater) as of date of entry, excluding employees, officers, directors and immediate family members/household members of SFCU and its participating affiliates. Void in Guam, Puerto Rico and where prohibited by law. Must use an eligible SFCU Mastercard to enter and have reached the legal age of majority in your state/jurisdiction of residence at time of entry. Entries are limited to one per person and may be submitted via e-mail, mail or phone. The odds of winning depend on the total number of qualified entries received. See Official Rules for details.

The Neilma Sydney Short Story Prize, sponsored by Overland magazine and the Malcolm Robertson Foundation, is a literary prize for short fiction about travel. The first winner will receive $5,000 and their story will be published in Overland’s autumn 2024 edition. The runners-up will each be awarded $750.

The Sidney Edelstein Prize for History of Technology is awarded annually to the author of an outstanding scholarly book on the history of technology published during the preceding three years. This prize is named in memory of Dr. Sidney Edelstein, a dye expert, businessman and founder of a specialty chemical manufacturing company, as well as a former recipient of SHOT’s Leonardo da Vinci Award. The winner of this prize is selected by a panel of distinguished historians and technologists. The deadline for nominations is June 15. Nominees must be American citizens or permanent residents who reside in the United States or its territories. The selection committee will announce the finalist by July 15, and the winner will be notified by August 31.