Singapore Prize Winners Announced

Founded by philanthropists, the singapore prize is one of the largest in the region. It aims to propel winners to further their innovations and ideas, and implement them at a larger scale. The awards ceremony also features performances by globally renowned artists and musicians.

The award recognises organisations that are demonstrating the highest level of commitment to sustainability and green growth. Winners are selected based on their innovative projects, investments in renewable energy and their engagement with communities. This year’s award also includes a new category called the Greenest City in Asia Pacific.

Previously known as the Singapore International Design Awards, this prize celebrates excellence and innovation in the field of design. It is open to designers, students, and firms who use design as their primary problem-solving tool. It aims to raise awareness of the strategic role of designers with Singapore at the heart of a dynamic Southeast Asian region.

It is the second time that Kamaladevi Aravindan has won the Singapore Literature Prize, which recognises publications that make a profound impact on the understanding of the nation’s history. Her book, Sembawang, explores the history of a Singapore estate and the politics of detention in the country. Described by judges as “an important contribution to Singapore’s intellectual heritage”, it has been described as a “flavourful and thoughtful” work.

A former lecturer at the NUS Department of History, Aravindan is the author of five nonfiction books on the Singaporean past. Her works have received critical acclaim in both the local and global arena, including a National Literary Award nomination. She has also been a featured speaker at various international conferences.

The shortlist for this year’s prize included four historical non-fiction books, with the final decision made by a panel of judges comprising NUS Asia Research Institute distinguished fellow Kishore Mahbubani; novelist Meira Chand; historian Prof John Miksic; and economist Dr Lam San Ling. The panel was assisted by a Nominating Committee that includes NUS staff and other academics, as well as arts and literary figures.

In addition to the top prize, there are two special mentions and an audience choice winner. The winning entries will be screened at the festival along with a selection of the other nominated films.

The Earthshot Prize awards entrepreneurs developing solutions to environmental problems with a catalytic $1 million award. Kensington Palace announced this week that Prince William will travel to Singapore to join the 15 finalists and honour their contributions at the prize ceremony next month. The event will feature a mix of performances and stories to spotlight the winners’ work. It will be hosted by Emmy award-winning actress Hannah Waddingham, and spotlight the creativity and innovation of Singapore and Southeast Asia.